Why Use Articles
For Research?
Articles are often the
best resources for research because
- they are current
- they cover very specific subjects and many subjects
- they can be scholarly
or popular
What Are Article Databases?
Article databases are
used to find articles published in magazines, journals or newspapers.
They contain article references (citations) and full text articles
on specific topics. For example, America: History and Life
is an article database providing references to scholarly journal
articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Other databases cover many subjects such as Academic Search
Premier. Article databases are also known as periodical indexes.
Academic Search
Premier - A Great Place to Start
Academic Search Premier is an article database which indexes over
8000 magazines and journals, many of which have full text articles
you can read online. Print, email or save articles. Please view
this three
minute online tutorial if you have never used an article
database before. The library subscribes to many other databases.
Ask a librarian to suggest
other databases on your research topic.
Finding Articles
Follow the steps below
to quickly and efficiently use library databases to find the articles
you need.
1. Clearly define your
research topic and need
- what subject are your researching?
- think about the subject more broadly or more narrowly
- how much information do you need?
- what type of information do you want?
2. Identify key words
that best describe your topic
- select two or three terms
- identify possible synonyms
- consider broader, narrower and related terms
3. Review the
Research Tips Guide to learn how to refine your searches
using Boolean logic and controlled
vocabulary
4. Select the best
article databases for your research
- Select a database corresponding to your subject using the Stewart
library Database Finder
- Almost all databases are available from off campus with your
WSU user name and password. Carefully review any instructions
on the database pages. Contact the Reference
staff if you have ANY questions or can't find what you
need.
- Do you need scholarly or popular articles? Use this checklist
to identify characteristics of each type.
- You may need to use more than one database to find the information
you need. Use the cross-database
search to search multiple databases at one time.
- Remember, some full text articles are available
online, including Academic Search Premier which provides
full text for over 4000 journals covering most subjects and perhaps
in an electronic journal.
Many article databases provide only the citation or reference,
not full text.
- ASK FOR HELP at any
time.
5. After retrieving
article references from a database:
- If the article is not full text, click on the Find Full Text
check Ejournals to see
if the journal you need is fulltext in another database
- If the journal is not available full text online, check the
WSU online catalog
to see if Stewart Library owns the print copy.
- Write down the call number
for the journal/magazine
- Go to the stacks to retrieve the journal. If it is a very new
article (generally less than 6 months old) go to the current periodicals area on
the middle level. If it is an older issue, go to the General
Collection on the top level to find the bound issues of the
magazine or journal on the shelf
- If the article is not full text, and not available in Stewart
Library, use Interlibrary
Loan to order the article from another library. Articles often
arrive within a few days.
- Ask Reference librarians
for help as needed or call 626-6415.
Exercise
Complete the following
exercise to practice using an article database.
- Open a second Web window. You can then use the task bar at
the bottom of the screen to go back and forth between this page
and the pages used for practice.
- Open the Stewart Library home page, http://library.weber.edu,
and click on Database Finder
- Find the list of article databases available, by subject or
by title
- If using the databases off-campus,
enter your WSU user name and password when prompted
- Select an article database that is appropriate for your subject,
ask for help anytime
- Choose at least two keywords
- Using your keywords, create an appropriate search statement
using your keywords and
Boolean logic and/or truncation or
proximity
- Enter your keyword(s) into the database search box
- Find full text articles and/or article references to articles
on your topic
- Print, save, copy or email articles or references