About Citing and Documenting Research
Accurately documenting sources used for research is an important part
of the writing and research process. Documentation is important because:
- It is used to give credit for information originally written
elsewhere.
- Documentation enables others to find the same information again.
- Failure to give credit for drawing on the work of others constitutes
plagiarism.
All documentation (bibliographies, endnotes, citations, references,
lists of works cited, etc.) should be done according to the style
appropriate for the audience that will be reading or reviewing the
writing. Ask each of your teachers or mentors which style they
want you to use. The library subscribes to many different documentation
style manuals including:
- APA (American Psychological Association):
for social sciences
- MLA (Modern Language Association): for
literature, arts, and humanities
- Chicago/Turabian: for all subjects
- CSE (Council of Science Editors): for
physical and life sciences
Select examples appear
below. For any source, electronic or print, there isn't always a
perfect example. If appropriate examples do not exist, consult the
official style manual or an authoritative website and adapt the
closest example found. It may be necessary to take parts of separate
examples and make a "hybrid" citation. When in doubt,
it is better to include more information than less. Ask for help
at the Reference Desk
at any time.
Citation Examples
APA STYLE
- Note: Double-space entries in the list
of references, indent second and additional lines
Book (with two authors and edition):
- Mitchell, T. R., & Larson, J. R., Jr. (1987). People
in organizations: An introduction to organizational
- behavior (3rd ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill.
- Scholarly journal article:
White, E. C. (1992). Sound bite news. Journal of Communication,
42, 5-18.
Popular magazine article:
Hirsch, M., Brant, M., Lipper, T., & Hosenball, M. (2002,
August 2). Hawks, doves, and dubya.
Newsweek, 140, 24.
- Journal article (retrieved from an electronic database):
Borman, W. C., Hanson, M. A., Oppler, S. H., Pulakos,
E. D., & White, L. A. (1993).
-
Role of early supervisory experience in supervisor performance.
Journal of Applied Psychology,
78, 443-449.
Retrieved October 23, 2005, from PsycINFO database.
Journal article (on the Internet)
Denning, W. M. (1997). Business curricula for the new university.
Educom Review, 31.
Retrieved May 23, 2001, from http://educom.edu/web/pubs/review
- Website:
Canarie, Inc. (1997, September 27). Towards a Canadian health
Iway: Vision, opportunities and
future
steps. Retrieved November 8, 2005, from
http://www.canarie.ca/funding/ehealth/publications/healthvision.pdf
NOTE: If using APA format, use (n.d). when
a publication date is not available for a web site.
- MLA
STYLE
Note: Double-space entries
in the list of references, indent second and additional lines
one half inch
Book (with two authors):
Howe, Russell W., and Sarah Hays Trott. The Power Peddlers.
Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1977.
-
- Scholarly journal article:
Bharati, Sarah. "Pilgrimage in the Indian Tradition."
History of Religions 3.2 (1982): 135-67.
- Popular magazine article:
Bender, William H. "How Much Food Will We Need in the Twenty-First
Century?" Environment
- Nov. 1997: 6-11.
- Popular article (from an online database offered through
a university, with only first page number given):
Fox, Justin. "Who
Wants to be an Internet Billionaire?" Fortune 8
Nov. 1999: 40- . Business Source Premier.
-
EBSCO. Weber State
U, Stewart Lib., Ogden, UT. 15 Aug. 2005 <http:www.epnet.com>.
Note: MLA Handbook, 6th ed. indicates that including the URL
for a subscription database is optional
- Internet site:
Liu, Alan. The Voice of the Shuttle. 30 Oct. 1999. U. of
California, Irvine. 6 Jul. 2001
<http://vox.uci.edu/shuttle.html>.
- CHICAGO/TURABIAN
STYLE
Note: Single space each entry in the list of references with one
blank line between entries. First line of each entry is flush
left and any runover lines indented five spaces.
Book (with two authors):
Lynd, Robert, and Helen Brown. Middletown: A Study in American
Culture. New York: Harcourt, 1929.
- Scholarly journal article:
Jackson, Richard. "Running Down the Up-escalator: Regional
Inequality in Papua New Guinea."
- Australian Geographer
14 (May 1979): 180.
- Popular magazine article:
Armstrong, Larry. "The
Learning Revolution: Technology Is Reshaping Education."
Business Week,
- 28 February 1994, 80-88.
- Journal article (on the Internet):
Browning, Tonya. "Embedded Visuals: Student Design in Web
Spaces." Kairos: A Journal for Teachers
of Writing in Webbed
Environments 3, no. 1 (1997); available from http://english.ttu.edu/kairos/
2.1/features/browning/index.html;
Internet; accessed 21 August 2005.
-
Website:
National Consumers League. Helping Seniors Targeted for Telemarketing
Fraud. 1997; available from
http://www. fraud.org/elderfraud/helpsen.htm;
Internet; accessed 2 February 2001.
- CSE
STYLE
Note: Single space within each entry in the
list of references and separate entries with a blank line.
-
-
- Book (with more than one editor):
Leeper FJ, Vederas JC, editors. Biosynthesis: polyketides and
vitamins. New York (NY):
Springer; c2000.
- Scholarly journal article:
Smart N, Fang ZY, Marwick TH. A practical guide to exercise training
for heart failure patients.
J Card Fail. 2003;9(1):49-58.
Journal article
(on the Internet):
Savage E, Ramsay M, White J, Beard S, Lawson H, Hunjan R, Brown
D. Mumps outbreaks across
England and Wales in 2004: observational study. BMJ [Internet].
2005 [cited 2005 May 31];
330(7500):1119-1120. Available from: http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/reprint/330/7500/1119
-
- Website:
Lawrence RA. A review of the medical benefits and contraindications
to breastfeeding in the
United States [Internet]. Arlington (VA): National Center for
Education in Maternal and Child
Health (US); 1997 [cited 2005 Jun 28]. 40 p. Available from:
http://www.ncemch.org/pubs/
PDFs/breastfeedingTIB.pdf
Internet
Resources
-
APA Online
(www.apastyle.org)
APA
Style Resources (www.psywww.com/resource/apacrib.htm)
-
- Citing
Government Information (http://library.weber.edu/ref/government/citinggovinfo.cfm)
-
- Citing
Government Information Using MLA
-
- (http://www.library.unr.edu/depts/bgic/guides/government/cite.html)
-
- Citing
Sources Covers APA and MLA (http://www.library.cornell.edu/newhelp/res_strategy/citing/)
Colorado
State Writing Lab A good starting place
- (http://writing.colostate.edu/guides/index.cfm)
-
- Concordia
University Libraries Guides (library.concordia.ca/help/howto/citations.html)
Turabian
Citation Guide (http://library.osu.edu/sites/guides/turabian.pdf)
Turnitin.com
The Research Resources here are valuable guides on plagiarism,
how to cite, when to cite, etc. Highly recommended
Printed
Style Manuals (located on reference
table 4A in Stewart Library)
- American Psychological Association. Publication Manual
of the American
- Psychological Association. 5th ed. Washington: APA,
2001.
- Council of Science Editors. Scientific Style and Format:
The CSE Manual
for
Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 7th ed. Reston, VA: The
Council,
2006.
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
6th ed.
- New York: MLA, 2003.
- Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers,
Theses, and
- Dissertations. 7th ed. Chicago: U. of Chicago Press,
2007.
Please see the above print and online resources
for
more
detailed information and examples
|