A call number is the
address of a book on the shelf. Use the library
online catalog to find the call number (location) of any item
in the library. The call number is listed at the bottom of
the catalog record; it is also found on a label attached to the
spine of the book (or elsewhere on the item). In our library,
we use three kinds of call numbers:
1.
Library of Congress Call Numbers:
Library of
Congress call numbers use the Library
of Congress Classification system to arrange books and other
items by subject. This means that when you find the
book you are looking for, other books on the same subject will be
close by.
In our library,
Library of Congress call numbers are used for materials in the following
collections:
- General Collection: Circulating books and bound
periodicals, shelved on the Top Level
- Reference: Non-circulating reference
books, shelved on the Middle Level, north end
- Current Periodicals: Non-circulating current issues
of magazines and journals, shelved on the Middle Level, south
end
- Media: Videos, compact discs, etc., shelved on
the Lower Level.
For example, the call number (location) for the reference book set
called CQ Researcher is:
- Reference tells you that the book is located in the Reference
Collection, Middle Level
- H35 identifies this as a general social sciences book,
and it will be near other general social science titles. This
is based on the Library
of Congress Classification.
- .E2322 is added to provide a unique number for this title.
- To find this book:
- go to the Reference collection
- find the section where the call numbers on the book spines
start with H
- find H35 (it will be after H10, H20, H30 and H34)
- then find the book with .E2322 after the H35
2. Dewey Decimal
Call Numbers:
Dewey Decimal call numbers
use the Dewey
Decimal Classification system to arrange books and other items
by subject. This means that when you find the book
you are looking for, other books on the same subject will be close
by.
In our library,
Dewey Decimal call numbers are used for materials in the following
collections:
- Young People: Circulating books for young people,
shelved on the Lower Level, north end.
- Curriculum: Circulating curriculum related materials,
shelved on the Lower Level, north end.
- Special Collections: Non-circulating books and
other materials, located on the Top Level, south end
- Archives: Non-circulating archival materials, located
on the Lower Level, south end (enter through the west outside
door on the Lower Level)
For example, the call
number (location) for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is:
- YP tells you that the book is located in the Young People
collection, Lower Level, north end
- 813 identifies that this book belongs to the category
of fiction in English. This number is based on the Dewey
Decimal Classification system.
- .R88 is a number based on the last name of the author,
J. K. Rowling
- 4h is added to create a unique number for this title.
- 1998 is the year the book was published,
- To find this book:
- go to the Young Peoples collection
- find the section where the call numbers on the book spine
starts with 813
- find .R88 (after .R10, .R70, .R80)
- then find the book with 4h and 1998 after the .R88
3. Superintendent
of Documents Call Numbers:
Materials in the Government
Documents collection (Middle Level, north end) are arranged
by government agency using the Superintendent of Documents
Classification system. See our Overview
of this system for an explanation of how to these call numbers work.