Shield Shield
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Home
Help  |  Search  |  Contact Us 
   
Research Guide: Dictionaries & Thesauri

In Print

Illustrated Oxford Dictionary Reference Table 2A PE1629.D5
The Oxford English Dictionary Reference Table 2A PE 1625.O87 
Random House Roget's College Thesaurus Reference Table 2APE1591.R314 
Ultimate Visual Dictionary Reference Table 2APE 1629.U49 
Webster's Comprehensive Dictionary Reference Table 2A PE 1625.N534


Online 

Oxford English Dictionary 

American Heritage Dictionary

College Slang Research Project:  Dictionary
This slang dictionary can be searched by keyword, or by browsing alphabetically by letter.

Dictionary of English Slang and Colloquialisms of the UK

Foreign Languages for Travellers

FreeTranslation.com
Translate entire paragraphs from German, French, or Spanish into English and translate English into Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, French, German or Spanish. 

HandSpeak:  A Sign Language Dictionary Online

Lexical FreeNet Thesaurus

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Roget's II:  Thesaurus

Thesaurus.com

YourDictionary.com

Wordsmyth Educational Dictionary-Thesaurus (WEDT) 
An online American English dictionary with an integrated thesaurus.  Contains 50,000 headwords, and defined and hyperlinked synonyms. 


For subject-specific dictionaries (ie. Medical Dictionaries, Legal Dictionaries, etc.), see the research guide for that subject.


Updated March 5, 2009 . Please send comments to Kathy Payne
Weber State University, Stewart Library. Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved.

Stewart Library - Weber State University - Ogden, Utah 84408. (801) 626-6403 - Copyright © 2008 ALL Rights Reserved