Shield Shield
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Home
Help  |  Search  |  Contact Us 
   
Research Guide: Diversity

Finding Books

Using Catalogs:   Use the WSU online catalog to find location and availability of books and other media in Stewart Library, or link to other Utah Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries.   To locate books on diversity issues, try searching the following subject headings:  


  • Aged 
  • Hispanic Americans 
  • Afro-Americans 
  • Homosexuality 
  • Asian Americans 
  • Indians of North America 
  • Blacks 
  • Japanese Americans 
  • Chinese Americans 
  • Latin Americans 
  • Discrimination 
  • Mexican Americans 
  • Diversity in the workplace 
  • Multiculturalism 
  • Ethnicity 
  • Physically handicapped 
  • Gays 
  • Pluralism 
  • Handicapped 
  • Religious tolerance 
  • Hate crimes 
  • Vietnamese Americans 

Interlibrary Loan:   If we do not own a particular book or article you need, we will borrow it for you from another library through Interlibrary Loan.


Reference Resources

Reference resources include encyclopedias, dictionaries and other materials you use to "refer" to. Use these resources for background information on a topic.   There are a number of useful Reference books on diversity topics.  A few are listed below:  
  • Associations Unlimited 
  • Atlas of World Cultures  Ref Table 9A G1046.E1P7
  • Country Studies/Area Handbooks  Documents D101.22:
  • Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation  Ref HV1568.E53
  • Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism  Ref Table 9A E184.A1 E58
  • Gay and Lesbian Biography  Ref HQ 75.2 G39
  • Older Americans Almanac  Ref Table 7B HQ1064.U5 O416
  • World Factbook  Ref Table 9B G1.W6
  • Women in the Third World  Ref HQ 1870.9 W6548

 


Finding Articles

ARTICLE DATABASES

To find articles on your topic you need to use article databases, also known as periodical indexes. Each database usually covers a group of subject related journals. Search by subject or keyword in these indexes. Most databases are available to WSU students and faculty from off campus.   A few important databases to consider for this topic include:

  • Academic Search Premier - indexing and full text articles from 8000 magazines and journals
  • AgeLine - abstracts from resources on aging
  • Ethnic Newswatch (full text articles!) - Full text articles in US ethnic press 
  • JSTOR - Full text scholarly articles covering social sciences and several ethnic/racial groups
  • Lexis/Nexis - Full text news, business, and legal information 

NEWSPAPERS

Many newspapers are now available online. Many papers may not provide indexes to back issues. An excellent source for international news, with full text archives back to 1980 is the Christian Science Monitor. The Deseret News and the Salt Lake Tribune also have searchable archives.  Internet sites for US and international newspapers include Yahoo: Newspapers.   For a list of WSU newspaper databases, see the Newspapers page. 

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

The library subscribes to many electronic journals in various disciplines.  For a complete listing, see the Electronic Journals by Subject page and choose the subject you are interested in.    Diversity topics can be found under the Social Science and Arts & Humanities categories.

 


Web Resources

Here are some WWW sites to get you started. Many of these will take you to other links, so explore!

META SITES FOR DIVERSITY INFORMATION

 

RESOURCES ON SELECTED GROUPS:

AFRICAN AMERICANS

CHICANO(A), LATINA(O), MEXICAN AMERICANS

GENERAL RESOURCES

GAY, LESBIAN, BISEXUAL AND TRANSGENDER

SENIORS AND AGING

NATIVE AMERICANS

PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED

RELIGIOUS TOLERANCE

WOMEN

WORLD CULTURES AND LANGUAGES INFORMATION


Research Tips

Updated March 5, 2009 . Please send comments to Carol Hansen
Weber State University, Stewart Library. Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved.

Stewart Library - Weber State University - Ogden, Utah 84408. (801) 626-6403 - Copyright © 2008 ALL Rights Reserved