
Government
Documents
The federal government,
through its various agencies and branches produces a vast
quantity of information on practically any subject. Many of
these publications are distributed by the United States Government
Printing Office (GPO) to depository libraries across the country.
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established
by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its
Government's information. This program involves the acquisition,
format conversion, and distribution of depository materials and
the coordination of Federal depository libraries in the 50 states,
the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. The mission
of the FDLP is to disseminate information products from all three
branches of the Government to nearly 1,300 libraries nationwide.
Libraries that have been designated as Federal depositories maintain
these information products as part of their existing collections
and are responsible for assuring that the public has free access
to the material provided by the FDLP. Weber State University's
Stewart Library is a selective government depository, selecting
approximately 45% of the documents available. University of
Utah , BYU and USU are other depository libraries in the area.
Utah State University Library is the regional depository for the
FDLP and therefore selects 100% of the available documents.
The Utah State government
also produces a substantial amount of information of interest to
the citizens of the state.
This guide is intended
to help introduce you to the use and location of these materials.
The Stewart Library Government Documents and Maps Department
has documents from the federal government dating from the
1700's to the present, and vary in format from pamphlets and
other print materials to CDs, microforms and Web sites.
Using Catalogs &
Databases:
Use the
WSU online catalog to find location and availability
of documents, CDs and other media in Stewart Library
The Online Catalog lists many, but not all, government publications
available at WSU. Search by author, title, keyword or subject.
Link to other Utah
Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries. Many
older documents are not found in online catalogs. Government
Documents are arranged by the Superintendent
of Documents Classification Number. Publications are
grouped together by the issuing agency.
To find documents not
in the catalog, use the Catalog
of U.S. Govt. Publications
, an index to government documents from GPO
Access. This database indexes government documents since 1976.
To locate older documents
use the print version of the Monthly Catalog,
located in Government Document Reference, 1st Floor North
- GP 3.8. Many of the documents are found in the Microforms
area of the library located in Microforms - Middle Level North.
Stewart Library also has
government documents on CD-ROMs or DVDS which can be obtained
at the Reference Desk. CD-DVD
List. Most of these are available for
check out.
Reference Table
2A contains finding aids and information about government documents.
Interlibrary Loan:
If we do not own a particular
document you need, we will borrow it for you from another library
through Interlibrary Loan.
Print Indexes to Federal
Documents:
- Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United
States Government Publications 1900-1971
GP 3.8/7: Government Documents Reference.
- Subject Guide to U.S. Government Reference Sources
Z 1223.Z7R63 - Reference Table 2A
- List of Classes The List of Classes is
the official listing of publications available for selection by
depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library
Program. GP 3.24: The most recent edition is
located on Reference Table 2A.
- U.S. Serial Set Index 1789-1969
Index to Congressional and department reports. J 74.C5
- Government Document Reference
- Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents
1789 - 1976. J 83.C7 -Government Document Reference
- Guide to U.S. Government Publications Z
1223.Z7 A574 - Reference Table 2A.
- Using Government Information Sources J 83.S4
- Reference Table 2A. "A guide to basic government
information sources used for answering reference questions. Separate
chapters cover search strategies and basic searching; specific
topics such as, foreign countries, climate, elections, maps, education,
and legislative histories; agency searches; and various types
of statistical searches."
Electronic Indexes to
Federal Documents:
- Government Databases
- Browse
Topics - GPO Access This contains approximately
150 subjects, based upon the Guide to U.S. Government Information
resources and links to nearly 4,000 online US government
resources.
- Google Government Search- (Formerly
Google.com/unclesam) Use this search engine first to search
for documents online.
- USA.Gov (Formerly
FirstGov.gov) Official government site - Searches U.S. Government
Web Sites. You can also browse by subject area. Features
FAQ link and Live Web Chat.
- Fedworld.gov
NTIS provides a comprehensive central access point for searching,
locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information.
top
Online Government
Resources:
top
Use the WSU
online catalog to find location and availability of documents.
The Online Catalog lists most Utah government publications
available at WSU. Search by author, title, keyword or
subject. Link to other Utah
Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries.
You can also search the Utah
State Library for all state publications.
If we do not own a particular
document you need, we will borrow it for you from another library
through Interlibrary
Loan.
Reference Table 2A, Middle
Level North, contains the most recent state publications as well
as the Utah Code, and other state related documents.
Many Utah documents are converting to online versions only.
top
Utah Print Resources
Statistical Abstract
of Utah HA 661.S 723 - Most recent edition is
located at the Reference Desk.
Utah Facts Utah Facts discusses issues
such as tax rates, utility costs, transportation, education systems,
cost of living and quality of life. HA 663.U82 Reference , Middle
Level North. Online: 2004
2006
State & Local
Government in Utah Contains a description of the structure,
operation, function, and finances of state and local government
in Utah - their departments, commissions and agencies.
JK 8425 1992.U8 - Reference.
Check the
print & online material listed below for all
states for other sources of Utah information.
Utah Information Online
top
State Profiles:
The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State Includes National
trends, State Rankings, Overviews, Population and Labor Force, Economic
Structure, Housing, Agriculture, Education, Health and Government
and other valuable information such as notes and definitions.
HA203.S734 - Reference Table 5B.
Middle Level North
Almanac of the
50 states Basic Data Profiles with Comparative Tables.
Gives statistical and demographic profiles for each state
plus the entire U.S. Also ranks the states according to 54 selected
criteria (population, hospitals, crime rates, etc.). HA203.A5 -
Reference Table 5B. Middle Level North
Book of the States
Biennial publication containing information about the state governments,
including constitutions, legislation, elections, services and statistics.
JK2408.B615 - Reference Collection, Middle Level North. Older
editions in General Collection, Top Level.
Desk Reference on
the States from Congressional Quarterly. Contains
over 500 answers to questions about history, government, elections,
courts, and more. JK2408.W48 - Reference Collection, Middle
Level North.
Online Information
top
Finding
International Information
Use the WSU
online catalog to find location and availability of documents,
CDs and other media in Stewart Library The Online Catalog
lists many, but not all, international government or United Nations
publications available at WSU. Search by author, title, keyword
or subject. Link to other Utah
Library Catalogs to locate items in other Utah libraries.
If we do
not own a particular document you need, we will borrow it for you
from another library through
Interlibrary Loan
Print Resources
CIA World Factbook
Released by the US Central Intelligence Agency Data available
for more than 260 countries. Includes the map and flag, geographic,
population, government, economic, communication, transportation,
military, and transnational issue information.
PREX 3.15 - Reference Table 5B, Middle Level North.
Also Online
Europa World Yearbook Provides narrative and statistics
on all nations. Contains recent history of each country, constitution
and law, and statistical surveys, including population of provinces
and cities. JN102.E852 - Reference Table 5A, Middle Level North.
Statesman's Year-Book
This annual publication provides a summary of statistical, political,
and economic data on all the countries of the world and many international
organizations. For many countries, information is also available
for administrative subdivisions. JA 51.A7. The most recent
edition is on Reference Table 5A, Middle Level North. Older
editions are in General Collection, Top Level.
Country Studies
From the Defense Department, the Country Studies Series presents
a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social,
economic, political, and national security systems and institutions
of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships
of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
D 101 - Government Documents, Middle Level North. Also
Online
Culturegrams
"Four-page country reports which highlight the
country's background: land and climate; history the people:
population; language; religion; general attitudes; personal appearance
Customs & Courtesies: greetings; gestures; visiting; eating
Lifestyle: family; dating and marriage; diet; recreation; holidays;
commerce Society: government; economy; transportation and
communication; education; health Development Data: country
rank; GDP; literacy rate; infant mortality rate; life expectancy
For the Traveler: brief visa, health, and embassy contact information."
Gives political, statistical, and economic data . GT150.C852
- Reference Table 5A, Middle Level North.
top
Online International
Information
top
- Ask for HELP at Reference,
via phone (626-6415) or in person.
- Email Lonna Rivera
directly with your research question, or call 801-626-6330.
- Ask a Librarian
- Online Reference Service.