Shield Shield
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Home
Help  |  Search  |  Contact Us 
   
Maps and Atlases

In Print

 

Most maps in the Stewart Library's Map Collection are  published by the United States government and are recieved through the University's participation in the U.S. Depository Library Program. Almost all maps of the United States in the Map Collection are produced by or in cooperation with the U.S. Geological Survey.  Maps are located in the Reference Department on the Middle level - North.  

 

TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS

Topographic maps of the United States are arranged alphabetically by State and by Quadrangle name. Each quadrangle is named according to a prominent geographic feature. The topographic maps are located on the Middle level - North in map cases.  

For Utah Maps see the 7.5 minute Quadrangle Names Map attached to the top of the map cabinets.

The Index to Topographic and other Map Coverage  are guides to individual quadrangle maps available for each state are on top of the south  map cabinet (green booklets).  Look for the STATE INDEX sign.  Use indexes to find the maps available for each state, then find the  appropriate state drawer and locate the named map.  The Catalog of Topographic and other Published Maps for each state are located in the same area (brown booklets) and contain a catalog of USGS published maps for each state.   We have many, but not all of the state maps.

Topographical Map Series available at the Library:

  • 1:24,000 scale,  7.5 minute.  All states filed alphabetically.  Look at the signage
  • 1:50,000 scale.  Supplements the 7.5 series.  See the Index to 1:50,000 scale maps with the other indexes on the south map cabinet.
  • :62,500 scale15 minute map  - Utah only.
  • 1:100,000 scale, 30 x 60 minute maps  - See the appropriate state's Index to Topographic and other Map Coverage.  These are also filed alphabetically by state.
  • 1:250,000 scale  All states and Antarctica, Canada and Peru.
  • 1:500,000  scale state maps.
  • United States maps of various scales

USGS GEOLOGIC SERIES AND HYDROLOGIC MAPS

 

Location:  Black Filing Cabinets Reference - Middle Level North.

To find U.S.G.S. Geologic and Hydrologic Maps:

GeoRef  - (Access through the Library's Databases By Title Page)   Database for worldwide literature of the geosciences. 1785 to present for North America; 1933 to present for international literature Updated 24 times a year.  Search tips:  Select Advanced Searching Mode. Select map as a type of material.  Type in search terms, for example Richfield and Utah.  Select the appropriate title and note map series and text number in the report number filed of the record.  You can also search by coordinates.  This is available to WSU students only.

Guide to USGS Publications  Located on Table 2A  A cumulative guide that contains map series and papers published since the inception of the USGS.  This guide contains complete area, subject, coordinate and author indexes.  Catalogs more than 10,000 thematic maps and professional papers published by the United States Geological Survey.

 

Series Name Series Name
C Coal Investigations L Land Use and Land Cover
GP Geophysical Investigations MF Miscellaneous Field Studies
GQ Geologic Quadrangle MR Mineral Investigations Resource
H Hydrologic Units OC Oil and Gas Investigations Charts
HA Hydrologic Investigations OM Oil and Gas Investigations Maps
I Miscellaneous Investigations Studies    

Location:  Black Filing Cabinets Reference - Middle Level South

Country/Areas of the World Maps - CIA maps of indivicual countries and world maps.

National Geographic Maps - Small collection from the National Geographic Magazine.  

Finding Maps Guide

What is  Map Scale ?

REFERENCE MAPS

Atlas of the World Reference Atlas Table G1021.M213
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide 
Reference Atlas Table G1019.R22
The Book of the World  
Reference Atlas Table G1021.K3842   
Historical Atlas of the United States Reference Atlas Table G1201.S1 N3 
Atlas of Utah - Reference Desk
All TOPO Maps - Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Nevada, Montana topographic maps on CD-ROM. Ask for the disks at the Circulation Desk.
National Geographic Maps on CD. Ask for the disks at the Circulation Desk.
State maps and Road Atlases are located at the Reference Desk.


Online

Aerial Maps Links - from USGS

Census Maps U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources

Color Landform Atlas of the United States   Includes satellite information for states and counties, 1895 state maps, a his collection of electronic images contains detailed topographic maps of the USA. Each state is shown on a seperate map. A shaded relief map of Afghanistan is new offered.

Geographic Names Information System
'Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates.' 

GEONet Names Server
Provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (NIMA) database of foreign geographic feature names. 

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Contains nearly 1 million place names representing approximately 900,000 places, with their latitudes, longitudes, and political and physical hierarchies

Google Earth   Offers maps and satellite images for complex or pinpointed regional searches

Historical Maps of the United States    Perry-Castaneda Map Collection - University of Texas.

Library of Congress Map Collections - 1500 - 2004

Map Blast    Get and save maps and directions.   Also offers Yellow Pages search, real time traffic reports for metro areas,  and weather reports.

Mapping the Natural Parks - Library of Congress American Memory Collection.

MapQuest  Includes maps, driving directions, live traffic reports, and travel and city guides.

Maps of the United States   University of Texas

National Atlas of the United States

National Maps - EPA site provides many maps, most dealing with environmental concerns. There are also population maps, land use maps, a map of military bases, and much more.

Outline Maps - From Education Place

PCL Map Collection

Rand McNalley Travel & Maps

Topozone.com   Every  USGS 1:100,000, 1:25,000, and 1:24,000 scale map in the U.S.

 

Updated March 5, 2009 . Please send comments to Kathy Payne
Weber State University, Stewart Library. Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved.

Stewart Library - Weber State University - Ogden, Utah 84408. (801) 626-6403 - Copyright © 2008 ALL Rights Reserved