For more information, see our guide on: Locating
Biographical Information
Online
- Ancestry.com
Over 250 million names in existing family trees.
Requires a subscription.
- Biographical
Dictionary Covers the more notable
names from ancient times to present.
- Biography.com
Biographical information on the popular figures in America
today.
- Family Search
A family history site maintained by the Church of Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints.
- Librarians'
Index to the Internet - People Has links to
biographical dictionaries, biographies about groups or families,
and individual biographies.
- Literature
Resource Center Comprehensive site for locating
biographical information on literary figures of all genres and
levels of renown. Includes links to criticism of their works.
- Michigan eLibrary
(MeL) Go to "Reference Desk", then
to "Biography". Dozens of links to biographical
Web sites, most of which are biographical dictionaries.
- Public Pioneer
- Biography Has links to a few of the more
popular online biographical sites.
- Biography
Reference Bank An index to biographical
information on half a million people from antiquity to present.
Names are searchable by a variety of parameters.
Print
- American National Biography REF CT 213.A68
- Biography Index REF CT 100.B5
- Contemporary Authors REF Z 1224.C6
- Current Biography REF CT 100.C8
- Dictionary of American Biography
REF E 176.D56
- Dictionary of Literary Biography REF
PS 221.D5
- Dictionary of National Biography REF DA
28.D54
- Directory of American Scholars
REF LA 2311.D57
- Encyclopedia of World Biography REF CT
103.E56
- Notable American Women
REF CT 3260.N57
- Something About the Author REF PN 451.S6
- Webster's Biographical Dictionary REF
CT 103.W4
- Who's Who in America REF E 176.W642
- Women in World History REF HQ 1115.W6