Stewart Library - Weber State University


Cross Database Searching

The Stewart Library is pleased to announce cross database searching:  search multiple databases at once. 

You may

Understanding your results

 


HINT:  THE CROSS DATABASE SEARCH SEARCHES A LARGE NUMBER OF RESOURCES.  THE NARROWER YOUR TERMS AND THE FEWER CATEGORIES/SUBCATEGORIES YOU CHOOSE, THE BETTER AND FASTER YOUR RESULTS.

IF YOU TYPE IN A SUBJECT SUCH AS "ABORTION" AND CHOOSE ALL DATABASES, YOU WILL CRASH YOUR COMPUTER AND PROBABLY THE CROSS DATABASE SEARCH. 


 

Searching databases by category

 

Cross Search by Categories help

 


 

Searching databases by subcategory

 

Cross Searching by subcategory help

 

You can also search categories and subcategories by clicking on the links and going to a new page that shows just that category and it's subcategories:

 

Another way to cross search by subcategory help

 


Searching databases selected from the alphabetical list

 

Cross Searching databases alphabetically by title.

 


 

Searching a specific database using its interface

 

Search a database by its interface

 


Searching for books and articles at the same time

You can search for books (and other media) and articles at the same time.  You may choose either Stewart Library catalog to search for just Weber State resources OR you can choose Utah Library Catalogs to search Utah Library Catalogs to search the state college and university libraries, including Weber State.  Then simply check the article category/subcategory you want, enter your terms and search.

 

Cross search for books and articles at the same time help


 

Understanding your results

Basic search results page

 

 

 

 

 

 


Updated August 27, 2007 --> . Please send comments to Kathy Payne
Weber State University, Stewart Library. Copyright © 2008 All Rights Reserved.